July 14, 2020

John Fahey - Boon's Treasury, Salem OR January 10th, 1982

Credit unknown. Thanks to Duane for finding this gem.


A01 On The Sunny Side Of The Ocean
    Spanish Flang Dang
A02 Lion
    How Long
A03 Steamboat Gwine 'Round De Bend
A04 How Green Was My Valley
A05 Steve Talbot On The Keddie Wye
A06 The Approaching Of The Disco Void
A07 Cigarette Break
A08 Christmas Fantasy Part 1
    The Lonely Goucho
    Oh Come, Oh Come Emmanuel
    Guitar Lamento>

B01 >Melody McBad
B02 The Grand Finale

Total time: 69:21"

d/l here

July 12, 2020

John Fahey - Boon's Treasury Tavern Salem OR November 11th, 1993

Tom Russell
Disc One (Soundcheck + Set One):

01 Soundcheck: Open D Themes
02 Fahey speaks
03 Marilyn (aborted)/Tuning
04 Marilyn
   Mood Indigo
   Diane Kelly Themes
   O’Holy Night
   My Prayer
05 Tuning
06 Steamboat Gwine ‘Round De Bend
07 Enigmas And Perplexities Of The Norfolk And Western
   Come On In My Kitchen
08 Tuning/Banter
09 Red Rocking Chair

Disc Two (Set Two):
01 Tuning/Banter
02 View
   Rain Forest
03 The Sea Of Love
04 Blueberry Hill
05 The Great Pretender
   In The Still Of The Night
06 Tuning
07 Afternoon Espee Through Salem
   Po’ Boy
   Steel Guitar Rag
08 Tuning/Banter
09 Tuff
   Come And Go With Me
   Come Softly To Me
   Special Rider Blues
10 Maggie Campbell Blues
11 Tuning/Banter
12 Claire
13 Dorothy

d/l here

July 11, 2020

John Fahey Palace Theater, Silverton, OR. 1987-07-02


Palace Theater, Silverton, OR.

01 - Sunny Side of the Ocean / Spanish Two Step / Spanish Fandango / Spanish Two Step (again) ( 11:12 )
02-Evening Mysteries of Ferry Street ( 02:57 )
03-Are You From Dixie? ( 02:37 )
04-Slide Medley ( 03:09 )
05-Deep River/Old Man River ( 05:16 )
06-You'll Find Her Name Written There ( 06:06 )
07-Nightmare/Summertime ( 04:47 )
08 - Poor Boy Long Ways From Home ( 05:10 )
09-Away in a Manger/Jesus Won't You Come by Here/Go Tell It on the Mountain ( 05:01 )
10 - Poor Boy (the OTHER Poor Boy!) / Steel Guitar Rag ( 06:32 )

total time approx 53 minutes.

MP3 only, flac file is mia

d/l here

John Fahey - The Matrix, San Francisco 1969

John Fahey

The Matrix
San Francisco, California
United States of America

11 February 1969

John Fahey - acoustic guitar

01. Bicycle Built For Two 1:06
02. Stomping Tonight on the Pennsylvania Alabama Border 5:34
03. Some Summer Day 5:39
04. The Yellow Princess 12:58

Total Time: 25:19

March 17, 2020

Glenn Jones House Concert

The Glenn Jones House Concert was recorded September 2006 in or around Seattle.
I consider Glenn to be one of the torch bearers for the great guitar playing style of John Fahey. Despite what the AllMusic review of his first studio release, I believe he does break new ground. The tunings and capo use is inventive and results in sounds that while true to Fahey, are more modern sounding and mature. American Primitive all grown up? Perhaps.

Probably the other factor is that Jones plays music that is very moody, not like that bad girlfriend you once had, but music that creates an aura. The guitar in Jones' hands is a storyteller. Too many instrumental guitarists fail to move me, not because they lack technique, but because they rely on it. Glenn has both technique and a story telling ability. Fahey was, at times, short on technique, but it didn't matter, he got the message across. Glenn likes to use dissonance to create the story he is telling and I think he has really taken it to another level. Fahey's Dance of Death was amazing, but I don't think he ever topped it or matched it and it was rather early in his long career. Jones is also fond of playing the 12 string. Gotta love the 12 string.
Give it a listen and please drop a comment.

Track listing
1. Intro (Greetings)
2. Freedom Raga
3. Intro (Talking)
4. The Teething Necklace
5. Intro (Talking)
6. Against My Ruin
7. Intro (Talking)
8. The Doll Hospital
9. Intro (Talking)
10.David And The Phoenix
11.Intro (Talking)
12.Sphinx Unto Curious Men

Artist website

Get it HERE

John Fahey live at Passim's in Cambridge, MA on April 16th, 1986

John Fahey live at Passim's in Cambridge, MA on April 16th, 1986
Cassette received in trade long ago, unknown gen.
There are cuts in the recording
Maxell UDS-II 90 cassette > Tascam 302 > Audiograbber > Audacity > CD Wave Editor > TLH FLAC 6 aligned on sector boundaries using fix

Rank Stranger
March 2020 


A01 On the Sunny Side of the Ocean
       Spanish Two-Step
       Spanish Fandango
       Spanish Two-Step
A02 Banter
A03 Steamboat Gwine 'Round de Bend
A04 How Green Was My Valley
A05 Banter
A06 Silent Night
A07 Banter
A08 Sunset on Prince George's County
       The  World is Waiting for the Sunrise
A09 Banter
A10 Deep River
       Ol' Man River
A11 Banter
A12 Rain Forest

B01 Steve Talbot on the Keddie Wye
B02 Banter
B03 Ocean Waves
B04 Black Mommy
B05 Melody McOcean
B06 Banter
B07 Beverley
B08 The Revolt of the Dyke Brigade
       Requiem for John Hurt
B09 Sunflower River Blues

Total time: 91:03"