November 25, 2009

Blind Brand X (aka Ragtime Ralph) - Yesterday I'll Be Happy

Ragtime Ralph is back! In case you haven't already figured it out, Ralph and Blind Brand X are one in the same. Sort of... There is no doubt that Ralph has separated the two in his mind, and on his guitar. They do not play the same style. But they do share a love of Fahey's music and of course the talent to translate that into fantastic listening!
This is Ralph's 6th release on Empty Square Records. Though he hasn't released any actual 'records' of the black w/grooves type, there is some people out there that seem to be pining for such a thing. Maybe someday? No knowing. However, Ralph has out done himself on this release with a 20 page booklet. The scans are included.
Some of my favorites on this release are
Bringing in the Sheaves
Blessed be the Name
And the Blues Come Down Baby Like Showers of Rain
When the Saints Go Marching In
As the Sun Slowly Melts All My Blues Away
and the amazing Ring of Fire. Yes, that Ring of Fire made famous by Johnny Cash. Ralph, let me say that one is a stroke of genius!

Get the music here

Enjoy and be sure to drop back by after you give it a listen and let me know what you think!